A little bit of progress

23andmeAncestry

I made it to step five ahead of 2 of my kits that were ahead of me. They have now made it to 4.5. I am getting little results here and there like the one above. Still not really German…. This one shows more Irish than the others seems like. It’s Northern Europe like the others. What happened to my Scandinavian thingy? lol It goes to show, the longer you have to wait on results the less Scandinavian you become lol If I waited any longer there is no telling what I’d be. 😉

I’m now a hair more Neanderthal as well. 2.4% I think I believe the geno 2.0 (2.3%) more as it includes my Denisovan 1.5 % as well. I’m still U5B2C2 but they left off the last 2. A lady and I shared genomes before my results even came in due to us sharing this haplogroup –a few surnames and locations in common and the fact we are just cool like that.

I have been contacted by a DNA pro willing to do a little pro bono work. This will definitely help as I’m going cross eyed with my results. I hope he doesn’t die when he sees my “methodology” tree. I’m thinking he will notice the same things I have but will understand the connections better. He will definitely spot things I haven’t or that I didn’t know meant anything. There is a little pedigree collapse here and there with my Quaker side. It worries me. But because of knowing this I automatically go back a few more gens than I probably need to. There are a few big families that seem to connect me with most of my dna matches. A chick/sibling here and there marrying into their family trees. Way back there are always Ball-Dodge-Lewis-Randall-Briggs-and Wrights. I’m afraid of all the Clarks-Moores-Smiths and Tuttles.

I’m hoping for one more close match and also my “updated” non id.  Patience. I have no new what I call “first pagers” in my matches.

I still check for results a few times per day as I’ve given in to the idea that I’m not going to stop. 🙂

When I was waiting for my FTDNA results I didn’t check near  as often. I knew they were going to take forever.  It was when i was offline the results came in and I found out by a new cousin contacting me about our match. She knew before I did.

I occasionally get emails that state “I’ve read your profile  and I’d love to help with this so I’m working my tree out more for you. You are definitely on my _____ side.” These are so helpful yet they set me looking down a different trail. I sometimes lose my spot lol The latest is a Nelson and yes, I’ve wondered about this branch/line before. Still haven’t found the mrca.

It will all connect soon.

Leave a Reply

